Books

Book challenge update

Realistically I shouldn’t have started this challenge with Frankenstein. I was doomed to fail starting with Frankenstein. But I finished Frankenstein triumphantly and a week over the deadline. I didn’t adhere to any of my rules but somehow I managed to make it, three books down and three weeks later. I decided to post an update every now and again to keep me motivated.

image

“Life, although it may only be an accumulation of anguish, is dear to me, and I will defend it.”

Throughout the story my heart weeps for Frankenstein’s monster, the neglected and abused “daemon”, “Adam”, “creature.” It’s a book that will resonate deeply with anyone who has ever been afraid of being ostracised or abandoned. You have so much sympathy for the character that it’s easy to forget how many crimes he has committed in response to his violent rejection from society solely due to his appearance. Don’t believe them when they tell you that this book is a horror, it is a tragedy.

image

“When it is a bad plant, one must destroy it as soon as possible the very first instance that one recognises it.”

The Little Prince is an absolutely soul-wrenchingly beautiful book about love, loss and life. My only regret is that I never read it as a child, but it can be easily enjoyed by old and young readers. I was pleasantly surprised at its depth and commentary on human nature for such a small children’s book. It’s a wonderful story with beautiful water-colour illustrations that you’ll want to read and re-read for years to come.

image

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

Animal Farm was such an interesting read. It was infuriating in some instances and yet full of humour in others. It has such noble and honest beginnings that you are forced to experience the exhilaration and excitement of rebellion before witnessing the inevitable and in-escapable power of corruption. I’m glad that I read it during a stage in my life where I am more aware of the world around me and all of its horrors – police brutality, war, terror, the lack of bodily autonomy, public shootings, hate crimes and sexual harassment, to name but a few. There is a lot of complaining today about “lazy” and “selfish” youth but what I see is wave after wave of leftie political millenials fresh out of university and eager to change the world. And I could see myself in that. And I could see how it can all go wrong. As they say on Tumblr, #StayWoke

I’m so happy to be three weeks in and three books down and I can’t remember the last time I’ve read so much. I decided next to read a ‘happier’ book but on looking at my library found that the only ‘happier’ options I have available to me right now are ‘The Bell Jar’ and ‘The Book Thief’. It looks like it’s going to be a very weepy Christmas.

Until next time!

Cíara C

Leave a Reply

