Beauty

Limecrime Venus palette

I’ve had my Limecrime Venus palette for a few months now but I’ve been putting writing a post about it on the long finger for a couple of reasons. The first reason is that I’m a terribly lazy and easily distracted person. The second reason is that up until recently I’d been photographing my make-up with my phone and the results left a lot to be desired. Thankfully there was an old DSLR collecting dust in the house and I’m so happy with the results. The photos are clear, have a lot of detail and are in focus – something that was nearly impossible to achieve with my Samsung Galaxy S5. Hopefully this will motivate to try out and photograph more looks.

2016-04-24 18.48.01

Now, back to the Limecrime Venus palette. I’d wanted it for months before finally getting my hands on it. Pricing and the Limecrime credit card scandal put me off for so long but I’m happy that I decided to go ahead and buy from them again. The colours are so pigmented and I never thought I’d get my hands on such a deep toned red. Even without the use of an eyeshadow primer you get a nice, even distribution of colour that lasts for hours. That and the packaging is beautiful – I’ve re-purposed the box to hold a couple of my eyeshadow palettes because it’s just too pretty to throw away.

The only downfall I’ve had is with the Velveteen lip colours. I’ve bought three so far and I really wanted to get my hands on ‘Salem’ but I’m pretty disappointed with the product. The darker colours bleed even when used with a lip liner and your lips feel dry all day long. I’ve tried using a lip scrub before applying it, as well as using Carmex sparingly over the product to try and make it settle more comfortably but I’ve found that nothing works. It has fantastic staying power but with how un-comfortable it is to wear that doesn’t seem like much of a plus.

I would definately recomend purchasing the Venus palette as I’m incredibly happy with how versatile it is, but I think in future I’ll be trying out Jefree Star’s velour lip colours.

Thanks for reading. Until next time,

Cíara C

One thought on “Limecrime Venus palette

Leave a Reply

