Beauty

Fun with Lush

Let me just start by saying that we are all blessed by Lush’s existence. If there is no church of Lush currently active I will start one, that’s how strongly I feel about them and their products. Unfortunately I’m from Galway and the Lush Gods have not deemed this tiny city cool/profitable enough to grant us our own store, but we live in hope. As it is, I have to travel to Cork or Dublin city to get my cruelty free beauty goodness, meaning I’m like a kid at Christmas everytime I get to waltz into a store. I recently travelled to Cork for the first time and Christened the occasion by treating myself to a Fun bar.

I’m always bowled over by how friendly and helpful the Lush staff are. They make you feel so comfortable and answer any and all questions you may have, as well as giving you a grand tour and a sample of whichever product you desire. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how much rubbish is generated through my health and beauty regime. I was concious of buying cruelty free, but this thought hadn’t occurred to me before. I shop in Aldi to save on cost but it’s so disheartening to see how little of their packaging is recyclable. I wanted something that was friendlier to the environment while also being friendly on my wallet. Enter the Lush Fun bar.

IMG_20160809_174953

The bar I bought – ‘Monsters and Aliens’ comes in three different colours and scents, with adorable little eyes to differentiate between them; I’m a sucker for the little details. The bar smells amazing and I bought it for around €7. Naturally, the larger bar was more expensive at around €11 for five different colours and scents. It’s suitable for use on your body and your hair, all you have to do is pull off a little bit and work it into a lather wherever you like; it can get a little messy but it completely washes away and leaves no stains. Admittedly I wasn’t very impressed with the condition of my hair after using it as a shampoo but I love to use it as a body wash. I’ve used it around 5 times already and I’m only half way through my first section, so you get plenty of use for how much you pay. I store it in an air tight container out of the shower (tin shown is from a different brand) as the water can cause it to disintegrate when not in use. The packaging is also biodegradable cellophane, yay!

Another plus of this purchase means that a small donation from every sale goes towards children affected by the 2011 tsunami and nuclear disaster in Japan. As it says on the bar:

“For many children in Japan, life has not yet returned to normal after the 2011 tsunami and nuclear disaster. 10p from every bar of Fun you buy will go into a FunD to help children’s projects in the affected areas.”

IMG_20160809_174923

I’m extremely happy with this product and I can’t wait for my next chance to visit the closest Lush store and add another product to my collection. I love supporting a company that’s ethical, vegetarian, cruelty free and handmade. Lush, long may you reign.

-Cíara

 

 

Leave a Reply

