Beauty

My first Birchbox(s) + Review

I’ve been on the look out for a beauty box for a couple of weeks now. I’m very much a creature of habit which makes me less likely to branch out and try new beauty items or brands if I haven’t used them before, and I’d been hearing a lot about Birchbox lately so I decided to give them a go. For those of you that don’t know, this is how it works:

1. Register your card with them on Birchbox.co.uk

2. Fill out a personal profile detailing your skin type and colour, general beauty routine and what types of beauty products you like.

3. €15 is deducted from your card each month (shipping is free!) and they send you out a box with 5-6 items.

4. You can cancel at anytime you wish.

5. Enjoy your surprise goodies!

There are a couple of beauty boxes on the market at the moment but Birchbox seems to offer more value for your money with regular gratis items. €15 a month is very manageable for me, considering that you get one or two full sized items each month, plus it stops me from spending a fortune when I go to make-up stores or beauty counters in town on items that I don’t need. Each box comes with a cute little leaflet telling you how to use the items you’ve received and offers competitions, giveaways and more. You can also buy full sized versions of the items you receive on the Birchbox website, with 30% off your first purchase as thanks.

Anyways, on to the boxes! I’d been waiting for the Postman at the door like a mad woman ever since I ordered and I’m so happy I did. They come in a protective bright pink box with the Birchbox name and logo on it, plus it smells amazing. Seriously. It smells so freaking good. I felt like a pretty lady before I even opened it.

I first registered with them in September meaning that I was sent an October box from 2015 along with it absolutely free. However if you register with them in October your free item is a beauty blender sponge. The boxes are gorgeously designed and make wonderful storage keepsakes as they’re so sturdy. My September box also came with a code for Lalalab entitling me to one of their polaroid style Lalaboxes absolutely free, all I had to do was pay for shipping. You can read my review on that here.

My September box came with hand cream, a rouge for your lips and cheeks, an all-in-1 mask moisturiser and primer, hairspray and shower gel. I love the bright red tone of the Model Co. gel, I was a bit anxious as my skin tends to be dry and sensitive so I wasn’t sure if the colour would blend properly, but it sat well and gave me a lovely healthy glow in my cheeks.

The October Birchbox comes in four different colours that correspond with your astrological sign, mine is green for Earth as my star sign is Virgo, and the coolest thing of all is that it glows in the dark! I received a full sized eyebrow brush, a facemask, lip pencil, revitalising mist, body gel and hair oil. The Lord and Berry lip pencil is the perfect colour for everyday wear and the facemask (lavender scented – my favourite) was so soothing and left my skin feeling fresh, soft and rejuvinated. It was my first time using a face mask and I have to admit, it made me feel a teeny tiny bit claustrophobic at first but after a couple of minutes I began to enjoy it and I’ll definately be using one again.

I’m extremely happy with my Birchboxes and I’ve compiled all the items I received in the image below. I don’t normally take the time out to properly pamper myself but purchasing these items made me feel like I could indulge in taking some time out just for me. There’s a fantastic variety in the items with a good mixture of skincare, make-up and beauty items suitable for everyday use. I love getting to spoil myself once a month with a whole load of beauty items and brands I wouldn’t normally get to try.

Next month’s November Birchbox is in collaboration with Tatler and I can’t wait to see what they have in store. In the meantime I’ll be beautifying myself day in, day out with the mountain of products they’ve given me. I’m currently running a competition over on my facebook page where you can enter for the chance to win a Birchox of your own. Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed my post!

Until next time, take care. ♡

-Ciara C

One thought on “My first Birchbox(s) + Review

Leave a Reply

